Tags

, , , , ,

Desjardins

M. Husch,

You inside will find papers and other
items which I am leaving of my hands
in Paris for security and maintenance.
It is not safety autrem otherwise. Please
scrutiny them for your edification on
matters of Straka and related volumes.
You will hold these items confidently
I am sure. They are for you only to
be used for the moment when you
understand their using, or until I
reclaim them. If you contact me for
clarity I will be compelled to deny you
for both safeties and I regret this.
Scrutiny please, and confident.
I wish that you stay careful and well.
Jean-Bernard Desjardins
.
This insert appears between pages 86-87. I have included the relevant marginalia between Jen and Eric…
JEN – I GOT A PACKAGE FROM DESJARDINS TODAY! A STACK OF DOCS & ONE OF THE OBSIDIAN PIECES, TOO. CHECK OUT THE NOTE.
It’s not clear to me what Desjardins is getting at in that note. It doesn’t make a lot of sense.
I HAVE NO IDEA. HE’S OLD BUT HE’S STILL SHARP… MAYBE IT’S JUST THAT HIS ENGLISH IS WORSE THAN I REMEMBER

Things that jump out…

  1. The word autrem is the beginning of the word “otherwise” in French and is crossed out. This could just be atmospheric art to show Desjardins slipping into French or it could be a clue.
  2. Scrutiny, please and confident.” Each word is underlined, which could just be for emphasis. Or, is it telling us to pay attention to those same words that were all used previously in the letter? Could this letter be a grille cipher, and these words are we we cut our grille? (Eric says Desjardins is sharp). Or some other cipher? There are exactly 26 letters in Desjardins’ underlined words, coinciding with the number of letters in the alphabet. There are also 13 lines in the main body of the letter, prior to the underlined words. Perhaps there is a cipher by combining these? Perhaps by using the first and last letters of each line in the main body?

    S C R U T I N Y P L E A S E A N D C O N F I D E N T
    Y I I I S M Y I B U R C F R S E E N S Y O U I R U S

  3. Desjardins says that the items “for you only to be used for the moment when you understand their using.” It sounds as if Desjardins is implying that there is something in the package or in the letter that won’t become clear until after contemplation, but in that Eureka moment, it will become clear.
  4. You will notice in the comments section below that Chinese reader Ting has an excellent observation. The “stack of docs” that Eric refers to receiving from Desjardins on p86 is written in green and Jen’s response is in orange. It has been assumed by most of not all readers that the green/orange conversation occurs chronologically after the blue/black conversation. And yet, as Ting observes, on p124, Eric writes in black about a discovery he made in Desjardins “pile of docs.” He and Jen then discuss this in black/blue inks. How can this be? Is this a mistake in the book? Is there a second pile of documents Eric had prior to what he received and mentioned on p86? Or, are we wrong about the choice of ink colors in the marginalia and how they relate chronologically?

Do you see anything else that jumps out?

